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AUTHORITY: 
 

NMSA 1978, Sections 31-19-1, 31-20-6, 31-21-10 (F), 31-21-7, as amended. 
 

REFERENCE: 
 

ACA Standard 4-APPFS-2F-02 and 4-APPFS-3D-25, Performance Based Standards for Adult 
Probation and Parole Field Services, 4th Edition 

 
PURPOSE: 

 
To provide a process for the collection, safeguarding and disbursement of all probation/parole costs, 
fines, fees and restitution assessed against a probationer by the courts and/or ordered by the Adult 
Parole Board and/or Interstate Compact rules and guidelines. 

 
APPLICABILITY: 

 
All Probation and Parole Division (PPD) staff. 

 
FORMS: 

 
A. Change in Offender Payment Plan form (CD-053101.1) 
B. Restitution Plan Approval form (CD-053101.2) 
C. Promissory Note form (CD-053101.3) 

 
DEFINITIONS: 

 
A. Probation/Parole Costs: Costs assessed against an offender by the court at the time of 

sentencing, by the Adult Parole Board, or through an Interstate Compact Supervision transfer 
are not to be less than $35.00 per month or more than $150.00 per month. 

 
B. Restitution: Full or partial payment of actual damages to victim with actual damages being what 

a victim could recover against the defendant in a civil action arising out of the same facts and 
circumstances, except punitive damages and damages for pain and suffering, mental anguish, 
and loss of consortium. Without limitation, actual damages may also include damages for 
wrongful death. 

 

C. Fines: Monetary penalties assessed by the sentencing Court per the applicable statutory penalty 
for that offense. 
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D. Fees: Monetary costs assessed by the sentencing court per statutory authority and payable to 
the court, or other designated public agency (i.e., DNA fees, lab fees, etc). 

 
E. Community Corrections Fees: Monetary costs assessed against offenders as part of participation 

in specialized programs. 
 

F. Global Positioning System (GPS) and Alcohol Monitoring Fees: Monetary costs assessed 
against offenders as part of being placed on GPS or alcohol monitoring. This may also include 
reimbursement for lost or damaged GPS or alcohol monitoring equipment. 

 
G. Liabilities: An automated system located in the Offender Management System which 

tracks and monitors offender payments for PPD. 
 

POLICY: 
 

A. The agency places priority on services and opportunities that encourage offenders to make 
restitution to the victim(s) of the crime(s) and/or to the community. [4-APPFS-2F-02] 

 
B. When funds are collected from offenders, the agency administrator ensures the appropriate 

collection, safeguarding, and disbursement of all monies consistent with law, policies, and 
directives. Staff is trained in these processes, and they are reviewed annually. [4-APPFS-3D- 
25] 

 
C. Probation/Parole costs for services provided will be collected on a monthly basis as required by 

New Mexico statutes. 
 

D. Designated Division personnel are responsible for the collection and daily disbursement of all 
probation costs, restitution, fines and other fees and costs assessed against a probationer ordered 
by a court of legal jurisdiction and such other costs the court orders Division personnel to 
collect. Designated Division personnel are also responsible for collection of any parole costs 
assessed against parolee by the New Mexico Adult Parole Board. 

 
E. Probation and Parole Officers are responsible for assessing changes in each offender's financial 

status, which would affect the offender's ability to pay. 
 

F. All payments will be made in the form of money orders or cashier’s checks. 
 

G. Payments for probation/parole costs, Community Corrections costs, GPS, and Alcohol 
Monitoring costs will be made payable to the New Mexico Corrections Department (NMCD). 

 
H. Payments for restitution will be made payable to the victim, unless otherwise directed by the 

Court. 
 

I. Payments for fines or fees will be made payable to the appropriate court or agency. 

 

J. Blank money orders/cashier's checks will not be accepted. No coin, currency or personal checks 
shall be accepted as payment for probation/parole costs. Amounts will be assessed on a calendar 
month basis. 
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AUTHORITY: 
 

Policy CD-053000 
 

PROCEDURES: [4-APPFS-2F-02] 
 

A. Offenders will be assessed probation and/or parole costs at a rate of not less than $35.00 or more 
than $150.00 a month. Exceptions to this rate schedule will be based on circumstances verified 
by the Probation and Parole Officer and approved by the sentencing authority. The amount to be 
paid each month will be determined by the sentencing court for all probation offenders and by 
the Adult Parole Board for all parole offenders. Any modifications or suspensions of payments 
during the term of supervision will be recommended by the offender's supervising officer and 
approved by the court. 

 
B. Out-of-state parolees and probationers will be required to pay a minimum of $35.00 or up to a 

maximum of $150 per month in supervision fees. Supervision fees for out of state parolees and 
probationers should be imposed in the same manner as the fees for New Mexico offenders. Any 
modification or suspension of payments requires that the Probation/Parole Officer submit his 
recommendation for modification to their immediate supervisor. All general rules, processes and 
procedures applied to New Mexico cases in regard to payment of supervision fees apply to out-
of-state cases required to pay supervision fees. 

 
C. All felony offenders, including out-of-state offenders, will be required to pay a $100.00 DNA 

fee. All general rules, processes, and procedures applied to NM cases in regard to payment of 
DNA fees apply to out-of-state cases. 

 
D. Offenders who are under parole supervision with probation to follow, arising out of the same 

conviction which led to the parole will be assessed only parole costs as ordered by the NM Parole 
Board. Any probation costs ordered will be collected during the period of probation supervision 
which follows the parole. 

 
E. Probation/Parole Officers (PPOs) will recommend an amount to be paid each month for each 

offender based on a thorough investigation of the offender's financial status. 
 

1. The following criteria will be used in evaluating the offender's ability to pay for services 
provided: 
-- Is the offender employed? Will he/she be employed upon being granted probation or 

parole? 



4 | P a g e  

-- What are the offender's debts, if any? 
 

-- Will the offender encounter any anticipated debts in the near future (vehicle, housing, 
etc)? 

 
-- Does the offender have dependents? If so, how many? Does the offender have an 

alimony and/or child support obligation? 
 

-- What is the offender's and their dependents' health/mental condition? Are there 
medical bills to be paid? 

 
-- What is the offender's overall financial condition? 

 
2. An analysis of the findings will be incorporated into the pre-sentence report for probation 

offenders and into the parole plan for parole offenders. The PPO is responsible for verifying 
the information provided by offenders by contacting employers, banks, social service 
agencies, medical personnel and others. The officer will recommend the amount to be paid 
to the approving authority and should be particularly careful to relay, in clear terms, the 
reasons why the specific recommendation was made. 

 
3. Whenever possible, the PPO shall determine the total amount of restitution to be made to 

the victim at the time the pre-sentence report is prepared. The Restitution Plan Approval 
form (CD-053101.2) will be made a part of the pre-sentence report. 

 
4. In cases where a pre-sentence report is not ordered and the judgment does not specify, the 

PPO will determine the amount of restitution and payment plan with the offender. The PPO 
will submit the agreed-upon amount utilizing the Restitution Plan Approval form (CD- 
053101.2) to the sentencing authority. When a disagreement arises between the offender 
and the PPO over the amount of restitution and/or payment plan, the PPO will request a 
restitution hearing from the sentencing judge, who will make the final determination. 

 
5. In cases where an offender is due to be discharged from supervision and has not fully paid 

their assessed restitution amount, no less than 90 days from the date of discharge, the PPO 
will complete a Promissory Note form (CD-053101.3) with details of the offender’s 
continued payments to the victim after their discharge date and instructions on how to 
submit those payments. A PPO should contact the victim advocate or victim to determine 
where continued payments should be sent and what address will be provided to the 
offender. A copy of the Promissory Note will be uploaded into the Offender Management 
System, placed in the offender’s file, and sent to the victim so that both parties are aware 
of the terms of the note. If the offender refuses to sign the promissory note no less than 90 
days prior to discharge, the PPO shall request a status hearing with the Court with a 
recommendation for unsatisfactory discharge. 

 
F. Assessment of Offender's Ability to Pay Costs and Notification to Offender: 

 

1. The PPO will inquire into the factors relating to the offender’s ability to make payment 
for probation/parole services and incorporate their findings in any required pre-sentence 
report or parole plan investigation. This recommendation shall include specific facts and 
findings justifying the officer's recommendation and will include a recommendation for 
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the amount to be paid monthly. 
 

2. The sentencing court or the Adult Parole Board will determine the amount to be paid 
monthly and inform the offender and PPO through the Judgment and Sentence or the parole 
certificate. 

 
a. If the court fails to specify the amount to be paid on the Judgment and Sentence, 

the PPO will specify an amount on the Order of Probation and will note whether 
the Judge accepts or modifies that recommendation. 

 
b. If the Parole Board fails to specify the amount to be paid on the Parole 

Certificate, the PPO will send a letter to the Parole Board through the District 
Supervisor, requesting clarification of the Parole Board's intent for payment. The 
letter will include a recommendation by the PPO for an amount of payment. 

 
3. Upon notification by the court, the PPO will review the policy and procedures for payment 

of probation/parole costs with the offender and discuss due dates and the offender's and 
officer's responsibilities. 

 
G. Modification of Scheduled Payments: 

 
1. Should circumstances warrant a modification in the monthly payment amount at any time 

during the offender's supervision based on the offender's financial situation or a Court 
specific order, the PPO officer will make a recommendation for modification or suspension 
of payment on the Change in Offender Payment Plan form (CD-053101.1) and forward 
the form to their immediate supervisor. The Change in Offender Payment Plan form may 
be modified to conform to court requests. 

 
2. The PPO’s supervisor will either approve or disapprove the recommendation. 

 
a. If disapproved, the recommendation will be returned to the officer with the reason for 

disapproval and no further action will be taken. 
 

b. If approved, the supervisor will notify the officer and the officer shall forward the 
recommendation to the appropriate authority. 

 
3. The court will be requested to approve or disapprove the modification or termination of 

payments and return the form to the probation/parole district office. 
 

4. The supervising officer will notify the offender of the action and retain the approved form 
in the offender's file and upload the form in the Offender Management System. 

 

5. If the court or Parole Board orders the offender to pay restitution to a victim and any or 
all of the loss is paid to the victim by an insurance company, the officer shall notify the 
court or Parole Board of the payment and request a written order as to whether or not the 
offender should continue to pay that restitution in addition to the insurance payout. 
Restitution that was ordered beyond or separate from the amount of the insurance claim 
will continue to be paid as ordered. 
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H. Collecting, Disbursing and Recording Payments: 
 

1. During regular meetings with the PPO, the offender will be given a remittance slip and a 
pre-addressed envelope to the business office with a return address of the appropriate 
district office as set out in the example below: 

Adult Probation and Parole 
Business Office 
PO Box 27116 
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87502-0116 

 

The offender will return the remittance slip to the PPO for stamping and mailing or will 
mail directly to the business office. 

 
2. Once the payment is received at the business office, the operator will enter the payment into 

the offender management system, according to established guidelines, and deposit it or 
forward the payment to the intended recipient by the close of the next business day in 
accordance with state statutes. 

 
3. Payments will be made by money order or cashier's check. Cash, personal/business checks, 

or blank money orders/cashier's checks shall not be accepted. 
 

4. Offenders required to pay probation or parole fees will make the money orders/cashier's 
checks payable to the New Mexico Corrections Department (NMCD). Offenders required 
to pay DNA fees will make the money orders/cashier's checks payable to the Department 
of Public Safety (DPS). 

 
a. Each day a Deposit Slip for Probation and Parole fees and/or DNA fees and cashier’s 

checks or money orders will be prepared, and the first five (5) copies of the deposit 
form will be sent to the state fiscal agent bank. 

 
b. DNA fees will be identified and deposited into Fund 402, Agency 790, Revenue Source 

2993. 

c. On DNA deposits, copies of transmittal and deposit forms will be submitted to: 

Department of Public Safety Finance Bureau 
P.O. Box 1628 
Santa Fe, NM 87504. 

 

5. Offenders required to pay restitution through the Probation and Parole Office must make 
payments in the form of a money order or cashier's check made out to the victim, unless 
otherwise directed by the Court. 
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I. Auditing: 
 

1. The district supervisor will, on a quarterly basis, audit the Liabilities to ensure costs are 
being collected and the offender is not in arrears. Corrective action will be taken on audit 
exceptions. 

 
2. At least 90 days prior to a case being closed out, the supervising officer will conduct an 

audit to ensure that all assessed fees have been paid and properly recorded. Outstanding 
costs will be addressed with the offender. 

 
3. This policy, procedure and practice shall be made known to staff and reviewed annually. 

[4-APPFS-3D-25] 



 

NEW MEXICO CORRECTIONS DEPARTMENT 
PROBATION AND PAROLE DIVISION 

Change in Offender Payment Plan 

Form CD-053101.1 
Revised/Reviewed: 6/29/23 

 
 
 
 
 

Offender’s Name: 

Offender’s Case Number: 

   

 
Date: 

   

 
 
 
Current Monthly Payment: $ 

 
 
 

Recommended Change: $ 

  

 
Reason(s) for Modification or Suspension: 

 

Approved 

   

Disapproved Probation-Parole Officer  Date 

 Supervisor  Date 

(Below to be completed by Approving Authority, Court, or Parole Board) 

Approved    

Disapproved    

   Date 



 

NEW MEXICO CORRECTIONS DEPARTMENT 
PROBATION AND PAROLE DIVISION 

Restitution Plan Approval 

Form CD-053101.2 
Revised/Reviewed: 6/29/23 

 
 
 
 
 

County of  

State of New Mexico  

 
Offender’s Name: 

Offender’s Case Number: 

 

 
I,   , understand that I owe restitution in this case as follows: 

Amount $ 

Amount $ 

Amount $ 

Amount $ 

 
agree to make payments at a minimum rate of $ per month. If restitution is not paid by the end 
of my probation period I will continue to make payments to the victim(s) until the balance is paid in full. 

Additional terms: 

I understand my obligation and agree to abide by these terms. 

 Date 

Probation/Parole Officer 
 
 
 

 

Probation/Parole Supervisor 

 

It is ordered that the above plan is approved and its specific terms are made conditions of probation. 

 Honorable 



 

NEW MEXICO CORRECTIONS DEPARTMENT 
PROBATION AND PAROLE DIVISION 

Promissory Note 

Form CD-053101.3 
Revised/Reviewed: 6/29/23 

I promise to pay the sum of $ including any fees, costs and other charges provided herein for 

This restitution.   (Offender Name) agrees to pay 

 (Victim) as follows: 

payments of $ of principal on the day of every month beginning , and continuing until 
this Note is paid in full. 

This restitution is payable in full on . (Offender Name) must repay the outstanding principal balance 
of the restitution then due. The victim in the case is under no obligation to agree to any change in the terms of 
payment at any time. 

(Offender Name) may prepay at any time, the entire indebtedness or any part thereof evidenced by this Note and 
such prepayments shall be applied in the manner scheduled payments are applied. Partial prepayments shall not 
postpone the due date of any subsequent monthly installments or change the amount of such installments and 
shall not postpone the due date for payment of the indebtedness evidenced by this Note. 

Default: I will be in default on this Note if any one of more of the following occurs: 

I fail to make a payment on time or in the amount due 

I die, am declared incompetent, or become bankrupt or insolvent 

I fail to keep any promise contained in this Note 

I make any written statement or provide any financial information that is untrue or inaccurate 
 
 

In the event of default, the outstanding balance will become immediately due and payable in full. 

Attorney’s Fees: If the Victim hires a lawyer (at any time or from time to time) to collect or protect his or her rights 
under this Note due to my failure to comply with the terms and conditions set herein, I agree to pay the Victim’s 
attorney fees, plus any costs and other expenses incurred in enforcing the obligation herein. 

 
 

Applicable law: This Note will be governed by the laws of the State of New Mexico. 
 
 

Signatures: Each person who signs this agreement acknowledges receipt of a copy. 

   
 

Offender’s address: 
 
 
 
 

Signed: Witnessed: 
 

 
 

Payment will be made out to in the form of a money order or cashier’s check and 
mailed to: 

 
 
 

(Per scheduled payment note herein) 

Dated this   day of 


