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AUTHORITY:
A. Americans with Disabilities Act.
B. The Family and Medical Leave Act.
C. Chapter 52, Workers’ Compensation, NMSA, 1978, as amended.
D. State Personnel Board Rule NMAC 1.7.10.13
E. General Services Division Rule 91-703

REFERENCE:

A. ACA Standard 2-CO-1C-05, Standards for the Administration of Correctional Agencies,
2" Edition.

B. ACA Expected Practices 5-ACI-1C-01 and 5-ACI-1C-15 Performance Based
Standards and Expected Practices for Adult Correctional Institutions, 5™
Edition.

C. ACA Standards 4-APPFS-3D-27, Standards for Adult Probation and Parole Field
Services, 4™ Edition.

D. ACA Standard 2-CI-1A-6, Standards for Correctional Industries, 2™ Edition.

E. Governor's Executive Order No. 91-27

PURPOSE:
To provide specific guidelines for handling Workers’ Compensation claims and the Early
Return to Work Program and to ensure each work site has an accident reporting system. [4-
APPFS-3D-27] [2-CI-1A-6]

APPLICABILITY:
All employees of the New Mexico Corrections Department (NMCD).

FORMS:
A. Release to Full Duty form (CD-032301.1)

B. Doctor Visit/ Modified Work Assignment (Work Related) form (CD-032301.2)
C. Doctor Visit/ Modified Work Assignment (Non-Work Related) form (CD-032301.3)

DEFINITIONS:

A. American with Disabilities Act (ADA): Federal Legislation signed into law July 26, 1990.
It is an anti-discrimination statute which requires that qualified persons with disabilities
be given the same consideration for employment as individuals without disabilities.
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B. Appointing Authority: The level of authority within the NMCD that can authorize hire.

C. AWOL: Absent Without Official Leave.

D. Early Return to Work Program (ERTW): Modifications to duties in accordance with State
Personnel Board Rule 1 NMAC 7.10.13. Early Return to Work assignments includes
"Modified Duty Assignments" and "Temporary Duty Assignments" as defined in the
policy. Such assignments may last for up to six (6) months, which may be extended with
permission of the State Personnel Director for an additional six (6) months.

E. Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA): This act provides up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-
protected leave for eligible employees to tend to their own or a family member’s serious
medical condition, birth of a child or military exigency and up to 26 weeks of leave to
care for a covered service member or veteran.

F. LWOP: Leave without pay.
G. Leave Time: Time accrued as sick leave, annual leave and compensatory leave.

H. Modified Work Assignment (MWA): A Modified Work Assignment is given to an
employee who can perform all of the essential functions of their job classification, but is
unable to perform some of the non-essential functions of their job classification; which
classification may be subject to reasonable accommodation. The employee is relieved of
performing some of the non-essential functions of their classification.

I.  MMI: Maximum Medical Improvement.

J. Pre-Existing Physical Impairment: A disclosure of a prospective employee's medical
condition regardless of origin, which could or will affect the person's ability to perform
the duties of the position for which the person applied. Medical histories are not public
record and disclosures will be held confidential.

K. RMD: Risk Management Division of the State of New Mexico.

L. Root: Determination of main cause of a problem or a problematic event arrived at through
a root cause analysis.

M. Temporary Duty Assignment (TDA): A Temporary Duty Assignment is given to an
employee who cannot perform all of the essential functions of their classification; for
which classification it is not possible to reasonably accommodate the employee by
relieving the employee of performing any essential functions (e.g., Correctional Officers
and Correctional Officer Specialists). It is a temporary duty assignment comprised of a
combination of duties from one or more positions.

POLICY:
The NMCD will comply with all provisions of the New Mexico Workers’ Compensation Act,
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the FMLA and the ADA to ensure that all employees are aware that they are covered under the
provisions of these laws.

A. All claims of Worker Compensation will be handled in compliance with the procedures
in CD-032301.

B. All employees shall practice safety in the work place and in operation of equipment at all
times.

C. Workers compensation shall be a part of the personnel policy manual. [S-ACI-1C-01]

D. All incidents that result in injury to an employee are reported to the administrator or
designee within a specified period of time. The administrator or designee will review the
report and take appropriate corrective action. [2-CO-1C-05]

E. All employees who have direct contact with offenders shall receive an appropriate
physical examination prior to job assignment. All other employees receive medical
screening prior to job assignment. Employees receive re-examinations according to a
defined need or schedule. [5-ACI-1C-15]
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AUTHORITY:
Policy CD-032300
PROCEDURES: [4-APPFS-3D-27] [2-CI-1A-6] [5-ACI-1C-15]
NOTIFICATION/TREATMENT/EARLY RETURN TO WORK:
A. Employee Obligations:

1. All employees shall immediately report to their immediate supervisor any accident
or injury that has occurred during their normal work assignment.

2. All employees shall complete the Workers' Compensation Notice of Accident form
(NOA-1), available through the Human Resources Bureau (HR), for any accident or
injury that has occurred during their normal work assignment even if it is a minor
accident or injury not requiring medical treatment and not resulting in loss of time
from work.

3. All employees placed in a TDA or MWA approved by their physician, who refuse
the assignment or by performing tasks or acts not consistent with or authorized by
their TDA/MWA are in violation of their TDA/MWA and may be subject to
disciplinary action.

B. Immediate Supervisor Obligations:

1. The immediate supervisor, in conjunction with the employee, shall complete the
Workers' Compensation Notice of Accident form (NOA-I), if involved in any
minor accident or injury not requiring medical treatment and not resulting in loss of
time from work.

2. The immediate supervisor, in conjunction with the Fire Safety Program Manager,
will investigate the accident scene to determine the root cause of the accident and will
make necessary changes to reduce the likelihood of recurrence of the same type
accident. They will complete the Workers' Compensation First Report of
Accident form (WCA E1.1), (available through HR), describing all details related to
the accident and a copy will be sent to the respective payroll officer and the state's
contractor adjuster.

3. If the investigation produces evidence that the employee willfully or intentionally
violated NMCD policy, the report will be submitted to the appropriate appointing
authority for possible disciplinary action.
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Contractor Adjuster/Insurance Carrier:

1. Will process the claim in its entirety and will file the claim with the Workers'
Compensation Administration.

Safety Program Director: [2-CO-1C-05]
1.  Will review the accident report and, if warranted, conduct a follow-up investigation.

2. Will follow-up on changes made to reduce the likelihood of recurrence of the same
type of accident.

3. Report any noted problems to injured employee's adjustment to the work place,
supervisor, or co-workers to the appointing authority for possible resolution.

Labor Relations’ Obligations:
1. Will inform the employees of the Department's ERTW.

2. Will provide the employee with a list of the essential job functions or TDA for
medical evaluation by the employee’s treating physician.

3. Inthe event the employee’s treating physician does not release the employee to return
to normal duty, and a MWA or TDA is available, the physician will be advised of
available work for evaluation.

a.  No employee will be permitted to return to full duty (or otherwise considered
qualified to return to full duty) unless they have provided HR with a Release to
Full Duty form (CD-032301.1)

b. Itis the employee’s responsibility to provide his or her treating physician with a
blank Release to Full Duty form (CD-032301.1). If the treating physician
completes said form, i.e., releases the employee back to full duty, the employee
shall provide HR with an original copy of the form within three (3) working days
of said release. It is the employee’s responsibility to obtain the form from HR
and provide it to their physician. Unless and until the employee provides HR
with the Release to Full Duty form, the Department will assume that the
employee has not been released to full duty and cannot perform the essential
functions of their pre-injury, full duty position even if the employee has
provided HR with treating physician’s notes, reports opinions, letters, etc., that
state that the employee can return to full duty.

4. If the employee declines a MWA or TDA that has been approved by the treating
physician, HR will notify RMD with copies to the appropriate appointing authority
and HR Administrator.

5. HR will make the necessary arrangements to return the employee to work as soon as
possible and complete the Doctor Visit/ Modified Work Assignment (Work
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Related) form (CD-032301.2) or the Doctor Visit/ Modified Work Assignment
(Non-Work Related) form (CD-032301.3).

HR will review Doctor's Query form after each visit to monitor the employee’s
progress.

The employee may return to work in an MWA for up to 6 months. The MWA may
be extended for up to 6 additional months if substantial progress in recovery has been
demonstrated and return to full duty is anticipated within these 12 months. If the
employee cannot return to full duty within 12 months, a copy of the employee’s
complete ERTW file will be forwarded to the Human Resources Director.

The Human Resource Director shall review the employees file to determine if State
Personnel Board (SPB) rules as well as Department policy were followed.

The Human Resource Director shall notify the employee in writing that he or she
should return to their position, or a position that he or she qualifies for, within
ninety (90) days and that failure to do so may result in the employee being separated
(without prejudice) from their position.

During the ninety (90) day period, the Human Resource Bureau (HR) shall review
Department job vacancies to determine if the employee can be permanently
reassigned to another position under the following circumstances:

a.  MMI has been reached and the employee cannot perform one or more of the
essential functions of the present job classification with or without an
accommodation.

b. MMI is not attained within 12 months for a MWA or TDA.

c. The employee reports that they will be unable, due to a permanent disability, to
perform the essential job functions of his or her present position.

d. The Department will make reasonable efforts to find suitable vacant positions
within the agency at the same or lower midpoint than the midpoint of the pre-
injury/pre-illness position for which the employee, (either with or without
reasonable accommodation,)either; meets the requirements and can perform the
essential functions of the job or the Department certifies that the employee holds
qualifications and abilities necessary for successful job performance and can
perform the essential functions of the job.

e. If approval is granted by the appointing authority, the local HR administrator
will inform the Human Resource Director who will proceed to request an
exemption to the recruitment process through the State Personnel Office
(SPO).
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£ If no suitable position is available or if the employee rejects an alternative
employment offer, the appointing authority shall proceed with a notice of
contemplated separation in accordance with State Personnel Board Rule
1.7.10.13 Separation without Prejudice.

F. General Counsel:

If no suitable vacant positions exist, the Office of General Counsel shall review the case
to determine if all appropriate measures have been taken to return the employee to work.

G. Appointing Authority:

After review is completed, if a position is not available or if the employee rejects an
alternative employment offer, the appointing authority shall take action to separate the
employee.

H. Benefits Administration:

1. Upon adjudication by the Workers’ Compensation Administration that the injured
employee is entitled to benefits:

a.  The employee will be given credit for a full workday on the date of the injury
without charging it to sick leave.

b.  The next five (5) working days are chargeable to sick leave, if the employee has
sick leave available, or if sick leave has been exhausted, annual leave may be
used at the employee's option. In either case, the employee must request the leave
by completing form SPB-001.

c.  After the first seven consecutive calendar days, when an employee is unable to
work, Workers” Compensation will commence paying the employee 66 2/3% of
the average gross weekly wage (or the maximum weekly payment specified by
law, whichever is less).

d. Starting on the eighth consecutive calendar day, 1/3 of the employee's missed
time is charged to sick leave until it has been exhausted and then to annual leave,
in accordance with the following scale:

1) 2.7 hours per day for full-time employees.

2) 2 hours per day for three-quarter time employees.

3) 1.4 hours per day for half-time employees.

4) Indicated on the time sheet, "On Workers’ Compensation Coverage", sick
and/or annual leave must be requested by the employee by completing Form
SPB-001.

e. When an employee has exhausted his or her accrued leave, the employee must
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request Leave without Pay using Request for Leave without Pay form (CD-
032801.1) in maximum increments of 30 calendar days. A statement must
accompany the request from the employee's treating physician indicating when
the employee might be expected to return to duty. This option is only available
if the treating physician indicated that the employee cannot return to work to
MWA or TDA or such duty is not available.

f.  The employee will be informed when leave without pay has been granted for
thirty (30) calendar days (or less if so requested). If they are unable to return to
work after thirty (30) calendar days (or less, if less was requested and
approved), they must submit a second request for LWOP a minimum of five (5)
working days prior to the expiration of the approved leave or they will be charged
AWOL and may be subject to disciplinary action including dismissal. LWOP
cannot exceed thirty (30) calendar days for probationary employees or twelve
(12) consecutive months for permanent employees, unless approved by the
employee’s Division Director.)

g If the employee fails to return to work as directed, the appointing authority will
proceed with disciplinary action or separation from employment in accordance
with SPB Rule 1| NMAC 7.10.12 or 7.10.13 and Department Policies.

h. If an employee is absent from work for 28 consecutive calendar days, Workers’
Compensation insurance retroactively pays the employee for the first seven
days they were absent from work. Since these seven days have already been
paid by sick leave, it is necessary that the employee's supervisor notify the
appropriate human resource staff or the payroll department in writing that the
employee has been absent for twenty-eight (28) days. The payroll department
will set up an for 66 2/3% of the amount paid to the employee for the days of
sick or annual leave in that seven (7) day period. An hour’s adjustment will be
used to reinstate the twenty-seven (27) (2.3 of 40) hours leave to the
employee's records based on the assigned work schedule at the time of the

injury.

I.  Fire/Safety Program Manager:

1.

Will examine all accident reports and work with the Facilities Safety and Sanitation
Officer (FSSO) and Operations Manager where required, and take whatever
corrective action is deemed necessary to prevent similar accidents in the future.

Will ensure that each accident report will be discussed at the monthly safety meeting

immediately following the accident. If appropriate, an analysis of the accident, the
root cause and basic preventive measures will be discussed in this meeting.
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Form (CD-032301.1)

Revised 02/24/15
NEW MEXICO CORRECTIONS DEPARTMENT
Release to Full Duty
I have reviewed the ADA job description for the position of
and [ am releasing (employee name) to full duty, with no restriction,

based on the physical demands of the position. This release to full duty is effective

(Date).

Physician’s Name

Physician’s Signature

Date



Form (CD-032301.10
)

NEW MEXICO CORRECTIONS DEPARTMENT
RISK MANAGEMENT DIVISION
DOCTOR VISIT/MODIFIED WORK ASSIGNMENT (WORK RELATED)

EMPLOYEE IS TO RETURN THIS COMPLETED FORM TO HIS/HER
EMPLOYER AT THE CONCLUSION OF EACH AND EVERY DOCTOR VISIT

DATE: EMPLOYER:

DOCTOR: SOCIAL SECURITY #:

Is a State of New Mexico, Corrections Department employee. An alleged on the job
injury was reported by this employee on_which may require treatment as you determine. Please complete the data below so
that a claim may be process by the Worker's Compensation adjusting firm. The adjusting firm has to make the decision as to
whether the claim is compensable and the employee should be considered to be responsible for payment of your charges
until that determination is made.

Thank you for your cooperation in this matter.

Human Resource Supervisor Agency/Division Phone
1. Diagnosis
Was the employee released today? Yes [] No []
X-ray(s)? Today: Yes [] No [] Previously: Yes [] No []
Medication prescribed? Yes [ ] No [] Continued []
Will medication affect job performance? Yes [ ] No []
Can employee return to normal duty at this time? Yes [] No []
If “No”, can employee return to work on a limited/restricted basis? Yes [] No []
If “Yes” to #6, what restrictions? [] No reaching above shoulder [ ] No pushing/pulling
[] No climbing of stairs or ladders 1 No operation of machinery [ 1 No lifting over
[] No repetitive waist bending ] No kneeling/squatting [] Limited/no use of
Other
How long will restrictions last?  Until next visit other date

When is next scheduled visit?

Other comments




DATE:

Form (CD-032301.11)

NEW MEXICO CORRECTIONS DEPARTMENT
RISK MANAGEMENT DIVISION

DOCTOR VISIT/MODIFIED WORK ASSIGNMENT (NON-WORK RELATED)

EMPLOYEE IS TO RETURN THIS COMPLETED FORM TO HIS/HER
EMPLOYER AT THE CONCLUSION OF EACH AND EVERY DOCTOR VISIT

EMPLOYER:

DOCTOR: SOCIAL SECURITY #:

Is a State of New Mexico, Corrections Department employee. In order to accurately

determine his or her working status, please complete the data below so that a determination may be made whether to return
the employee to full duty or return the employee to a modified work assignment (light duty).

Thank you for your cooperation in this matter.

Human Resource Supervisor Agency/Division Phone
1. Diagnosis
Was the employee released today? Yes [] No []
X-ray(s)? Today: Yes [] No [] Previously: Yes [] No []
Medication prescribed? Yes [ ] No [] Continued []
Will medication affect job performance? Yes [] No []
5. Can employee return to normal duty at this time? Yes [] No []
If “No”, can employee return to work on a limited/restricted basis? Yes [] No []
If “Yes” to #6, what restrictions? [] No reaching above shoulder ] No pushing/pulling
[] No climbing of stairs or ladders [] No operation of machinery ] No lifting over
[] No repetitive waist bending [] No kneeling/squatting [] Limited/no use of
Other
How long will restrictions last? ~ Until next visit other date

When is next scheduled visit?

Other comments




